Quantum Simulation & Computation

12-16 February 2018, Bilbao, Spain

Upcoming new edition!

14-18 October 2019

In a moment of time in which the field of quantum technologies is defining its short, mid- and long-term goals, the development of quantum simulators and quantum computers finds itself in a particularly critical point, in which important challenges have to be addressed, such as

  • The utility of quantum simulators and quantum computers for short-term practical applications.
  • Issues of scalability in a variety of platforms: cold atoms, trapped ions, superconducting circuits, quantum photonics, quantum dots, among others.
  • Development of new quantum algorithms and study of the complexity of existing ones.
  • Practical demonstrations of quantum advantages, both in theoretical problems, as well as in practical ones.

The aim of this workshop on “Quantum Simulation & Computation: Advantage, Scalability, and Verification” is to gather leading figures in the experimental and theoretical realms, to address these and other problems, showcasing the state-of-the-art in the field, and planning for the near- and long-term future.

Invited speakers (confirmed)

  • Alan Aspuru-Guzik (Harvard Univ.)
  • Rainer Blatt (IQOQI / Univ. Innsbruck)
  • Immanuel Bloch (LMU/MPQ)
  • Jacqueline Bloch (Paris Sud Univ.)
  • Jonas Bylander (Chalmers Univ.)
  • J. Ignacio Cirac (MPQ)
  • Frank Deppe (Walther-Meißner-Institut)
  • Ivan Deutsch (New Mexico Univ.)
  • Michel Devoret (Yale)
  • Daniel J. Egger (IBM Research - Zurich)
  • Jens Eisert (Freie Univ. Berlin)
  • Leonardo Fallani (Florence Univ.)
  • Rosario Fazio (ICTP Trieste)
  • Maia Garcia Vergniory (UPV/EHU & DIPC)
  • Simon Gustavsson (MIT/Lincoln Labs)
  • Richard Harris (D-Wave Syst.)
  • Abhinav Kandala (IBM Research - NY)
  • Kihwan Kim (Tsinghua Univ.)
  • Joseph M. Lukens (Oak Ridge)
  • Miguel Ángel Martín-Delgado (Univ. Complutense)
  • Christine A. Muschik (Univ. Innsbruck)
  • Charles Neill (Google/UCSB)
  • Guido Pagano (JQI/Univ. Maryland)
  • Jian-Wei Pan (Hefei Nat. Lab.)
  • Alejandro Perdomo-Ortiz (NASA Ames)
  • Martin Plenio (Ulm Univ.)
  • Leticia Tarruell (ICFO)
  • Lin Tian (UC Merced)
  • Lieven Vandersypen (TU Delft)
  • Andreas Wallraff (ETH-Zurich)
  • Nathan Wiebe (Microsoft)
  • Frank Wilhelm-Mauch (Saarland Univ.)
  • Will Zeng (Rigetti Computing)

Date and venue

12th - 16th February 2018

University of the Basque Country, Paraninfo, Science and Tech Faculty, Bilbao, Spain

Local organisers

  • Enrique Rico (Univ. Basque Country)
  • Pol Forn-Díaz (BSC)
  • Juan José García Ripoll (IFF-CSIC)

Scientific committee

  • Enrique Solano (Univ. Basque Country)
  • Gavin K. Brennen (Macquarie Univ.)
  • Barbara Kraus (Univ. Innsbruck)
  • Chris Wilson (IQC)
  • Jose Ignacio Latorre (Univ. Barcelona)

Advisory committee

  • Immanuel Bloch (LMU/MPQ)
  • Tommaso Calarco (Ulm Univ.)
  • Steven Girvin (Yale)
  • Serge Haroche (ENS)
  • Ashley Montanaro (Bristol Univ.)
  • Barry Sanders (Calgary Univ.)
  • Göran Wendin (Chalmers Univ.)
  • Peter Zoller (Univ. Innsbruck)

General information

In addition of the invited talks, there will be room for both contributed talks and posters, as well as a round table. To apply for a contributed talk, poster, or attendance, follow the instructions in the registration webpage.

The conference fee of 150€ will cover general expenses and a conference dinner, and will be paid by all participants. Accommodation and meals will be handled by the participants. To travel from the Bilbao airport to the city, going to the Campus in Leioa, and moving around Bilbao, please follow this link.


  • September 2017, call for papers
  • December 2017, announcement of acceptance of contributions and registration
  • January 2018, closing of general registration